Creating a Course and Submitting It for Approval:
The course approval workflow only applies to District Courses.
To submit a course for approval in Workshop, you must first have the Limited Course Creator role granted in System Management. Your Eduphoria System Administrator will need to assign this role to you.
Once you have the role, you can submit a course in Workshop by going to the Manage tab, click Course Management, click Courses, and finally Add a New Course.
Note: This is the same process for creating all courses. Refer to the District/School Courses article for more in depth instructions.
When you begin editing your course, you will see a status message on the Overview tab that says, “This course is not yet published and is new.” This message will change as you go through the course submission process. Before submitting a course for approval, enter all of the details associated with the course in the Setup tab. Once submitted and approved, you will not be able to edit any of the information within the Setup tab.
After entering all of the details associated with your course, you may click the Submit for Approval button in the toolbar at the top. Please remember that after you click this button you will no longer be able to edit any information on the Setup tab without un-submitting it for approval.
Note: Click the Submit for Approval button only once and then wait. The more times you click the button, the more emails the approver will receive to take action and approve the course.
After the Submit for Approval button is clicked the course icon will update to show it is pending approval and the status message will change to read, "This course is not published and is pending approval. Next pending approval from: (name of approver)." The status message will also show the status of your course as it goes through the submission process including edits you may make. The first person in the course creation workflow will receive an email notifying them that they have a course to approve.
The Unsubmit for Approval button will appear where the Submit for Approval button was in the top toolbar. This button will enable you to recall your course from submission and stop the workflow process.
Approving a Course:
When a Limited Course Creator submits a course for approval, the first person in the workflow will receive an email notifying them that they have a course to approve. If you receive this email you will need to go into Workshop and click the Manage tab, click the Course Management tab, and click Courses. To see a list of courses pending approval, use the drop-down list with the following choices: View by Courses, View by Sessions, or View Pending Courses.
The approver can view courses by clicking on the View Pending Courses option. Simply select the course, review it, and then choose Approve Course or Reject Course.
If a freeflow step is set in a workflow, the approver can choose between Send to User, Continue Workflow, and Reject Course.
Send to User - Use this option if you need to send the course to an additional user for their approval. Search for a user to send the course to for another approval.
Continue Workflow - Use this option if no additional users are needed to approve the course in the freeflow step. After clicking this, the course will go to the next step in the workflow (if any additional steps exist.)
Reject Course - Sends the course back to the original submitter.
After a course has been approved and published, the Limited Course Creator can no longer access the Setup tab to make course modifications.